The best of the Argentinian Northeast: Iguazu Falls, Mocona Falls, Ibera Wetlands

Iguazu Falls Brazilian side

There are well-defined regions in the Argentine territory, many of which are attractions in themselves. For example, Patagonia. Indeed, the southernmost region of the country is a fascinating attraction, with glaciers, mountains, lakes, forests, snow, and the magic of the end of the world. And much more. Another region is the Argentine Northwest, where culture and colorful hills are the center of attention: The Quebrada de Huahuaca, Salta and Jujuy, the salt flats, the Train to the Clouds, and much more. There is also the region of the High Andes and Wine, such as Cuyo, with Mendoza as its main gateway. But what about the Argentine Northeast? What can we say about this region of the Argentine territory? Is it worth visiting?



The Argentine Northeast or Argentine Northwest (NEA) is one of the historical-geographical regions into which the Argentine Republic is subdivided. It comprises the provinces of Formosa, Chaco, Corrientes, and Misiones. This region shares many similar landscape, ecological, climatic, and cultural features.

The recognition of the NEA as a region is relatively recent and stems more from socio-economic and cultural similarities than geographical ones, although the entire region is characterized by a subtropical climate, with marked continental features in western Chaco and Formosa. In winter, temperatures rarely drop below freezing, although in certain areas such as Posadas and the Puerto Iguazú region, this phenomenon, also known as “frost,” is uncommon. Conversely, there are areas in western Chaco Province that often experience very low winter temperatures for the region. Overall, a warm subtropical climate prevails throughout the year. The greatest similarities lie in the cultural aspect, as all four provinces were heavily influenced by Guarani culture, even though in Chaco and Formosa, the Qom (referred to as “Tobas” by the Guarani), Wichi (referred to as “Matacos” by the Quechuas), Payaguas, Nivaclés (referred to as “Chulupí” or “Chunupí” by the invading Guarani), Yofuashas (referred to as “Chorotís” by the invading Guarani), Pilagás, Mocoretás, Vilelas (Gualambas?), Mokoits, Abipones, Arawaks-Chanés, Mataraes, who inhabited these lands before the Guarani invasion mainly between the 14th and 15th centuries AD. The provinces in the region are also among the most economically and socially disadvantaged in the country, with economic and social indicators ranking second worst after those in the NOA region.

With the exception of Corrientes Province, the other provinces were national territories until the mid-20th century and experienced a significant influx of European settlers dedicated mainly to agriculture since the early 20th century. In addition to Spaniards settling across Argentina, the NEA received significant waves of Slavic immigrants from the late 19th century, mainly Poles and Ukrainians (primarily from Galicia), along with small groups of Croats, Czechs, and Bulgarians, as well as Germanic peoples such as Danes, Norwegians, Swedes, and primarily Volga Germans (especially in Misiones) and Germans in Chaco and, to a lesser extent, Formosa. Moreover, during the 20th century, immigration of Paraguayans has been constant (who have become the most numerous immigrant group, far surpassing Europeans), typically being descendants of Spaniards and Guarani, and to a lesser extent, Central and Eastern Europeans (since the Paraguayan border region also received many German, Italian, Polish, Russian, and Ukrainian immigrants during the 19th and 20th centuries). There has also been significant immigration of Brazilians to Misiones and Corrientes from the late 19th to mid-20th century, who were generally descendants of Portuguese, Germans, and Slavs, and to a lesser extent, Sub-Saharan Africans.

The resulting population from the mestizaje between Europeans (mainly Spaniards) and local indigenous people (mainly Guarani) constitutes the majority, generally having a slightly higher degree of European ancestry on average.



Find a map below with the area called The Argentinian Northeast, and also the main attractions in the area

Map of the argentinian northeast




While the region is vast, the main attractions undoubtedly include:

Iguazu Falls

One of the most awe-inspiring natural wonders, spanning the border between Argentina and Brazil, offering breathtaking views and thrilling experiences.

San Ignacio Mini Ruins

A UNESCO World Heritage Site, these ruins are remnants of the Jesuit Reductions, offering a glimpse into Argentina’s colonial past and the indigenous Guarani culture.

See more about San Ignacio Mini Ruins

Moconá Falls

Known for its unique sideways waterfall phenomenon, Moconá Falls is a mesmerizing sight and a must-see destination for nature lovers and adventurers.

See more about Mocona Falls

Iberá Wetlands

A vast expanse of wetlands and marshes, home to diverse wildlife and bird species. Exploring the Iberá Wetlands offers a chance to encounter rare and endangered species in their natural habitat.

See more about Ibera Wetlands



Aguape Lodge in Ibera Wetlands

In addition to the mentioned attractions, the northeastern Argentine region also boasts other noteworthy places:

The Misiones Jungle is a lush ecosystem harboring unique biodiversity, featuring native and endemic plant and animal species. It’s an ideal destination for nature enthusiasts and birdwatchers. There are many lodges where you can stay and make activities, as birdwatching, trekking, kayaking and more.

The Jesuit Missions again. Beyond San Ignacio Mini, the region is home to other Jesuit missions, such as Santa Ana, Loreto, and Santa María la Mayor, reflecting the history and influence of the Jesuit Order in the area.

The Yerba Mate Route is an interesting attractin. A journey delving into the culture of mate, Argentina’s national drink. Visits to yerba mate plantations, factories, and museums offer a comprehensive understanding of this deeply rooted tradition.

Finally, the Guarani Culture is also interesting. A profound immersion into Guarani culture, with its rich history, handicrafts, music, and traditional dances. Guarani communities offer an authentic and enriching experience for visitors.



We´re ready to prepare a great program for you, but take a look to our suggested program to combine Iguazu Falls, Moconá Falls, Jesuit Ruins of San Ignacio Mini and Ibera Wetlands, in a great 8-night tour visiting the Argentinian Northeast


Book tour to the  Argentinian Northeast

Ramiro Rodriguez

Ramiro Rodriguez

25 years working in the travel industry, as Sales & Marketing Manager at RipioTurismo. Marketing Manager at Nuevas Ideas Travel Consulting Group. Writer and travel lover.

Table of Contents

Open chat
Scan the code
Hello! If you have any questions about a tour or need assistance planning your visit, you can chat with me. I'm here to help make your Iguazu experience unforgettable.